The Season of Lent

The     season of Lent has not been well observed in much of evangelical     Christianity, largely because it was associated with “high church”     liturgical worship that some churches were eager to reject. However, much of     the background of evangelical Christianity, for example the heritage of John     Wesley, was very “high church.” Many of the churches that had originally     rejected more formal and deliberate liturgy are now recovering aspects of a     larger Christian tradition as a means to refocus on spirituality in a     culture that is increasingly secular.

Originating in the fourth century of the church, the season of     Lent spans 40 weekdays beginning on Ash     Wednesday and climaxing during Holy Week     with Holy Thursday (Maundy Thursday), Good Friday, and concluding Saturday     before Easter. Originally, Lent was the time of preparation for those who     were to be baptized, a time of concentrated study and prayer before their     baptism at the Easter Vigil, the celebration of the Resurrection of the Lord     early on Easter Sunday. But since these new members were to be received into     a living community of Faith, the entire community was called to preparation.     Also, this was the time when those who had been separated from the Church     would prepare to rejoin the community.

Today, Lent is marked by a time of prayer and preparation to celebrate     Easter. Since Sundays celebrate the resurrection of Jesus, the six Sundays     that occur during Lent are not counted as part of the 40 days of Lent, and     are referred to as the Sundays                in                           Lent. The number 40 is connected with many biblical events, but especially     with the forty days Jesus spent in the wilderness preparing for His ministry     by facing the temptations that could lead him to abandon his mission and     calling. Christians today use this period of time for introspection, self     examination, and repentance. This season of the year is equal only to     the Season of Advent in importance in the Christian year, and is part of     the second major grouping of Christian festivals and sacred time that     includes Holy Week,     Easter, and Pentecost.

Lent has traditionally been marked by penitential prayer, fasting, and     almsgiving. Some churches today still observe a rigid schedule of fasting on     certain days during Lent, especially the giving up of meat, alcohol, sweets,     and other types of food. Other traditions do not place as great an emphasis     on fasting, but focus on charitable deeds, especially helping those in     physical need with food and clothing, or simply the giving of money to     charities. Most Christian churches that observe Lent at all focus on it as a     time of prayer, especially penance, repenting for failures and sin as a way     to focus on the need for God’s grace. It is really a preparation to     celebrate God’s marvelous redemption at Easter, and the resurrected life     that we live, and hope for, as Christians.

Ash Wednesday, the seventh Wednesday before Easter Sunday, is the first day of the Season of Lent. Its name comes from the ancient practice of placing ashes on worshippers’ heads or foreheads as a sign of humility before God, a symbol of mourning and sorrow at the death that sin brings into the world. It not only prefigures the mourning at the death of Jesus, but also places the worshipper in a position to realize the consequences of sin.  (See    Reflections on Ash Wednesday). Ash Wednesday is a somber day of reflection on what needs to change in our lives if we are to be fully Christian.

In the early church, ashes were not offered to everyone but were only used to mark the forehead of worshippers who had made public confession of sin and sought to be restored to the fellowship of the community at the Easter celebration. However, over the years others began to show their humility and identification with the penitents by asking that they, too, be marked as sinners. Finally, the imposition of ashes was extended to the whole congregation in services similar to those that are now observed in many Christian churches on Ash Wednesday. Ashes became symbolic of that attitude of penitence reflected in the Lord’s prayer:  “forgive us our sins, for we ourselves forgive everyone indebted to us”  (Luke 11:4, NRSV).

About brakeman1

Using every tool reaching out to those who seek the shinning light Jesus Christ gives to those who have faith. Keeping uninformed aware of bable with truth and meaning
This entry was posted in Discipleship. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s